Regulator fines: the leaderboard (2026)

Our data holds 29 regulator and court actions against broker companies from 8 regulators and courts: 12 monetary fines worth about €30 million in total, and 17 actions with no published amount (13 other actions, 3 warnings or remarks and 1 licence suspension or revocation). The largest is USD 11,500,000 against Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (Other: SEC, 2020). Every entry links to the regulator's or court's own notice.

Amounts are in the original currency. The euro total and the order use approximate exchange rates.

ASIC 9FCA 7CySEC 4Other: Reserve Bank of India 4Other: KNF Poland 2NFA 1Other: SEC 1CFTC 1

The 20 largest

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2020-08-10Interactive Brokers Group, Inc.
Interactive Brokers LLC
Other: SECUSD 11,500,000Failed to file suspicious activity reports on US microcap trading (part of a $38m combined SEC/FINRA/CFTC settlement). source
2017-02-06FXCM / Stratos Group International
Forex Capital Markets LLC, FXCM Holdings LLC and two founders
CFTCUSD 7,000,000CFTC found FXCM hid its link to its main market maker and misdescribed its 'No Dealing Desk' model; also false statements to NFA. FXCM agreed to withdraw from CFTC registration (exit from US). source
2014-02-26FXCM / Stratos Group International
Forex Capital Markets Ltd and FXCM Securities Ltd (FXCM UK)
FCAGBP 4,000,000Kept about £6m of price-improvement profits that belonged to UK clients and did not tell the FCA about a parallel US probe; ~£6m restitution paid on top. source
2026-04-13XTB S.A.
XTB S.A.
Other: KNF PolandPLN 20,000,000Weak client appropriateness checks and target-market definitions (2022-2023), unclear conflict disclosure and misleading CFD risk information; not final, XTB may appeal. source
2018-09-18XTB S.A.
X-Trade Brokers Dom Maklerski S.A.
Other: KNF PolandPLN 9,900,000Asymmetric price slippage on client orders Jan 2014 - May 2015; upheld by Poland's top administrative court in 2023. source
2025-05-29OANDA Global Corporation
OANDA Corporation
NFAUSD 600,000NFA Business Conduct Committee case: net capital shortfalls, improper offsetting of affiliate exposure, missing security deposits, supervisory failures; settled without admitting. source
2012-10-24Plus500 Ltd
Plus500UK Ltd
FCAGBP 205,128FSA (FCA predecessor) fine for inaccurate and missing transaction reports (2010-2011). source
2025-01-27INFINOX
Infinox Capital Limited
FCAGBP 99,200First UK MiFIR transaction-reporting fine: 46,053 single-stock CFD trades not reported (Oct 2022 to Mar 2023) and breach not promptly notified; 30% settlement discount (would have been GBP 141,800). source
2026-08-24RoboForex
RoboMarkets Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement (board decision 25 May 2026, announced 24 Aug 2026) over possible breaches of the Investment Services and Activities and Regulated Markets Law 2017 and MiFIR (EU 600/2014), June 2023 to June 2024. Paid. source
2026-02-04FP Markets (First Prudential Markets)
First Prudential Markets Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement over possible breaches of Article 42 MiFIR and CySEC Directive DI87-09 (retail CFD restrictions), March 2022 to August 2025. Paid. source
2024-01-29IronFX (Notesco group)
Notesco Financial Services Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement after a 2023 compliance inspection on CySEC's retail CFD restrictions (possible MiFIR breach); decision 29 Jan 2024, reported Apr 2024. source
2013-02-01eToro Group Ltd
eToro (Europe) Ltd
CySECEUR 50,000Settlement over early-stage organisational weaknesses (2010). Exact day not given in source; month only. source

ASIC (9)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2023-11-09Capital Com Group
Capital Com Australia Pty Ltd
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-11-09CMC Markets plc
CMC Markets Asia Pacific Pty Ltd
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-11-09Eightcap
Eightcap Pty Ltd
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-11-09IG Group Holdings plc
IG Markets Ltd / IG Australia Pty Ltd
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-11-09Pepperstone Group Limited
Pepperstone Group Limited
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-11-09Saxo Bank A/S
Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) Limited
ASIC—Self-reported CFD leverage above ASIC's product-intervention caps; part of AU$4.3m remediation paid by seven issuers to 1,500+ clients (remediation, not a fine). source
2023-08-03eToro Group Ltd
eToro AUS Capital Limited
ASIC—ASIC sued in Federal Court (first design-and-distribution case): CFD target market too broad and screening test too easy to pass. Case still pending per latest reports. source
2023-05-16Saxo Bank A/S
Saxo Capital Markets (Australia) Limited
ASIC—Eight interim stop orders on retail CFDs over weak target market determinations; revoked two days later after Saxo amended them. source
2014-10-13Pepperstone Group Limited
Pepperstone Group Ltd
ASIC—After ASIC inquiries found it served Japanese clients without a Japanese licence, Pepperstone agreed to exit Japan by 31 Dec 2014. source

FCA (7)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2014-02-26FXCM / Stratos Group International
Forex Capital Markets Ltd and FXCM Securities Ltd (FXCM UK)
FCAGBP 4,000,000Kept about £6m of price-improvement profits that belonged to UK clients and did not tell the FCA about a parallel US probe; ~£6m restitution paid on top. source
2012-10-24Plus500 Ltd
Plus500UK Ltd
FCAGBP 205,128FSA (FCA predecessor) fine for inaccurate and missing transaction reports (2010-2011). source
2025-01-27INFINOX
Infinox Capital Limited
FCAGBP 99,200First UK MiFIR transaction-reporting fine: 46,053 single-stock CFD trades not reported (Oct 2022 to Mar 2023) and breach not promptly notified; 30% settlement discount (would have been GBP 141,800). source
2023-11-13IG Group Holdings plc
Clone: 'ICT Market 24' / ictmarket24.com
FCA—CLONE WARNING - unauthorised firm impersonating IG Markets Limited; not IG's fault. source
2021-02-08Pepperstone Group Limited
Clone: 'Pepperforeign' / pepperforeign.com
FCA—CLONE WARNING - impostor imitating Pepperstone; not Pepperstone's fault. source
2020-12-18Plus500 Ltd
Clone: FRCM Management / financereserve.com
FCA—CLONE WARNING - impostor copying Plus500's name and legal details; not Plus500's fault. source
2015-05-15Plus500 Ltd
Plus500UK Ltd
FCA—After an FCA-ordered skilled-person AML review, agreed a voluntary requirement freezing existing UK accounts pending AML documents and halting onboarding; onboarding resumed Jan 2016. source

CySEC (4)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2026-08-24RoboForex
RoboMarkets Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement (board decision 25 May 2026, announced 24 Aug 2026) over possible breaches of the Investment Services and Activities and Regulated Markets Law 2017 and MiFIR (EU 600/2014), June 2023 to June 2024. Paid. source
2026-02-04FP Markets (First Prudential Markets)
First Prudential Markets Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement over possible breaches of Article 42 MiFIR and CySEC Directive DI87-09 (retail CFD restrictions), March 2022 to August 2025. Paid. source
2024-01-29IronFX (Notesco group)
Notesco Financial Services Ltd
CySECEUR 100,000Settlement after a 2023 compliance inspection on CySEC's retail CFD restrictions (possible MiFIR breach); decision 29 Jan 2024, reported Apr 2024. source
2013-02-01eToro Group Ltd
eToro (Europe) Ltd
CySECEUR 50,000Settlement over early-stage organisational weaknesses (2010). Exact day not given in source; month only. source

Other: Reserve Bank of India (4)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2025-11-01Exness Group
Exness (exness.com)
Other: Reserve Bank of India—Named on RBI 'Alert List' of forex platforms not authorised to deal with Indian residents (listing, not a fine). Exact list date/day approximate - Nov 2025 version. source
2025-11-01FBS
FBS (fbs.com)
Other: Reserve Bank of India—Named on RBI 'Alert List' of forex platforms not authorised to deal with Indian residents (listing, not a fine). Exact list date/day approximate - Nov 2025 version. source
2025-11-01IC Markets
IC Markets (icmarkets.com)
Other: Reserve Bank of India—Named on RBI 'Alert List' of forex platforms not authorised to deal with Indian residents (listing, not a fine). Exact list date/day approximate - Nov 2025 version. source
2022-09-07Octa (formerly OctaFX)
OctaFX
Other: Reserve Bank of India—Named on the first RBI 'Alert List' of unauthorised forex trading platforms (Sept 2022). source

Other: KNF Poland (2)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2026-04-13XTB S.A.
XTB S.A.
Other: KNF PolandPLN 20,000,000Weak client appropriateness checks and target-market definitions (2022-2023), unclear conflict disclosure and misleading CFD risk information; not final, XTB may appeal. source
2018-09-18XTB S.A.
X-Trade Brokers Dom Maklerski S.A.
Other: KNF PolandPLN 9,900,000Asymmetric price slippage on client orders Jan 2014 - May 2015; upheld by Poland's top administrative court in 2023. source

NFA (1)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2025-05-29OANDA Global Corporation
OANDA Corporation
NFAUSD 600,000NFA Business Conduct Committee case: net capital shortfalls, improper offsetting of affiliate exposure, missing security deposits, supervisory failures; settled without admitting. source

Other: SEC (1)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2020-08-10Interactive Brokers Group, Inc.
Interactive Brokers LLC
Other: SECUSD 11,500,000Failed to file suspicious activity reports on US microcap trading (part of a $38m combined SEC/FINRA/CFTC settlement). source

CFTC (1)

DateCompanyRegulator / courtAmountReason
2017-02-06FXCM / Stratos Group International
Forex Capital Markets LLC, FXCM Holdings LLC and two founders
CFTCUSD 7,000,000CFTC found FXCM hid its link to its main market maker and misdescribed its 'No Dealing Desk' model; also false statements to NFA. FXCM agreed to withdraw from CFTC registration (exit from US). source